In the shadow of silence: great exhibition from Alcibides Zemenis in Second Life

Exhibition poster in RL

Alcibides Zemenis is a great artist in RL and in Second Life. We can consider very lucky when great RL artists decide to show their works in Second Life also, as Alcibides is making now. His exhibition is at Studio 33, of which I included the LM to visit it.

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Rockcliffe%20Conservatory/223/56/1514

I would like to add my impressions to see his work. The tables are filled with a deep lyricism. In a dream world in the flow of surrealism, a style, sometimes childish, confronts us with fears and taboos ancentrales. The drawings somewhat reminiscent variegated ethnic, alternating with acuerales where incomnensurable color treatment. I recommend visiting an exhibition.

Me gustaría incluir mis impresiones al contemplar su obra. Los cuadros están llenos de un profundo lirismo. Dentro de un mundo onírico en la corriente del surrealismo, un estilo, en ocasiones infantil, nos enfrenta a miedos y tabús ancentrales. Los dibujos abigarrados con cierta reminiscencias étnicas, se alternan con sus acuerales donde el tratamiento del color es incomnensurable.  Una exposición que recomiendo visitar.

“the garden of tribulations” by Alcibides Zemenis.

Allow me to include a text of an interview for the Chashama Gallery.

Permitanme que les incluya un texto de una entrevista para la galería Chashama.

  •    How would you describe your artwork, and what are you expressing through it?

    I don’t try to describe it although I have heard it called illustrative, surreal, dada and other mostly positive adjectives. I try to expose my inner life and unconscious by creating a hap-hazard visual diary. I also use an automatic stream-of-consciousness image making method where I put down color or pencil marks and then look at the marks or color and wait until something is suggested. The images I have recorded during my lifetime are projected unto the working area. Either literally as in a cartoon character likeness or as an unresolved emotional expression.

    •    What medium(s) do you work in?

    I have worked in every medium including video and sculpture but I have focused on pencil, watercolor and poetic text lately.

    •    What inspires you?

    That is a difficult answer to put into words. The elements that make one thing, let’s say a song, inspirational or not inspirational might be described as intensity, originality and how I relate to the subject matter. In a song it might be a few lyrics that hit home or a phrasing of the beat that is impossible for the spirit to ignore.

    •    What kind of artistic training do you have, if any?

    I have a BFA, grad work and continued to take classes for many years after I left college with no particular degree in mind. I enjoyed learning and still have a thirst for new insight into art and everything related to art, which could include every form of media, liberal arts and literary direction. I particularly find reward in history and philosophy and have continued to educate myself. I am also reading James Joyce currently.

    •    Who are your heroes (artistically and/or otherwise)?

    Growing up it was Jack Kirby the comic book artist and Bob Dylan. In college I first found Renault, Gauguin and Chagall beacons of visual understanding, later Degas, Goya and Picasso. For a few years, when I was concentrating on a more academic style of illustration I found some of the Pre-Raphaelite, 19th century salon artists and Orientalists enchanting. Its been an unending procession of artistic “heroes.” The last ten years there have been literally hundreds of artist whose work I admire.

    •    Where do you work?

    I work at my home studio. Except for my bed, kitchen and bookcases my home is a studio.

    •    How did you hear about chashama?

    From a friend of an Parisian artist who was managing the show for the artist.

    •    Have you been granted a chashama space? If so, what project was featured and what was your experience like?

    Interesting, the mobs of never ending foot traffic passing by without glancing in the direction of the gallery. I think people have too much information being thrust at them, especially in a place like NYC. There is no time to observe, they have to keep on the move. An accelerated life style, with advertisers pushing harder and being more competitive for the attention of the consumer, and everyone trying to make their life count. That was the reason I called my show Cultural Hysteria.

    •    How long have you been an artist?

    About 45 years.

    •    Have you worked any side jobs to support your art? If so, tell us about them.

    I have had to do commercial work to support myself. At times work unrelated to art. I have worked in construction, a flour mill, the food industry, as a street musician and as a corporate designer/illustrator and intranet web designer, a councilman, an elderly caretaker and a cooking and art instructor. 

    •    Where are you from originally, and what lead you to your current city?

    I was born in Oklahoma, grew up in the Bronx, went back to Oklahoma when I was about 18 and lived there 12 years all together, lived in California for almost 6 years. It’s curious that I never really felt at home till I came back to New York after 20 years out west. I have seen a lot of this country and a few foreign countries as well, all the different lifestyles and I think that gives me perspective.

    •    Do you have any upcoming shows, news, exhibitions or announcements we can make in your Spotlight?

    I have a few drawing in the Wassaic Festival, ironically a fairly large and growing arts festival in my home town of 4,000. I am finishing the illustrations for my novel, a semi-autobiographical fantasy satire, The Goddess of Pigland. I had been studying mythology and Joseph Campbell for some time and I believe the story includes a variation of the hero’s, or at least the anti-hero’s journey. I worked on the text on and off for ten years.

    •    Do you have a website that we can link to? If so, please provide the address.

    I have just started to create a new website, so it is under construction at this time.

    •    What are some thing you do to recharge? Are there any places you go? (yoga, bars, parks, etc…)

    I need undistracted quiet and peace to recharge. That being said, I sometimes make break-throughs under pressure, somethings can not be created except under fire. Real life experience and sometimes tribulations are necessary for inspiration and subject matter. A friend of mine who is an inspired painter once said, “Without my issues I could not paint.” And, yes, I do yoga and a bit of tai chi, long walks in meditative places.

    •    What are some of the biggest challenges you face personally in persevering with your art?

    Distraction and distress, either in my life or by those close to me. Sometimes I drift with out a thought in my head, unmotivated and unambitious. It’s not that easy to sum up. I am still learning about my processes.

    •    What is a risk that you’ve wanted to take with your work and haven’t yet.

    Once, when I was in Los Angeles, I thought of a performance art piece where I would crash an art show and highjack it. I was going to hire actors to dress as police and fellow art-terrorist, but I allowed a friend to discourage me. That would be the kind of risk I have wanted to take, a little crazy maybe, but have not. I suppose I am not crazy enough, but who knows, never say never.

    •    Has digital technology and the internet altered your work in any way? Built patrons? Created followers?

    I can’t say it’s all had a positive effect, it can be quite distracting, but, I currently have several shows in the virtual world of Second Life. So recently technology has been a boon.

Esta entrada fue publicada en Artistas, Exposiciones, Galleries, gallery y etiquetada , , , , , , , , , . Guarda el enlace permanente.

12 respuestas a In the shadow of silence: great exhibition from Alcibides Zemenis in Second Life

  1. I’ve recently started a blog, the info you provide on this site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  2. Raquel dijo:

    Finally, got what I was looking for!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it. Glad I stumbled into this article! smile I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post. My kindest regards, Raquel.

  3. I like this mesh place same ample so much impressive info . “Fate chooses your affinitys, you elect your benefactors.” by Jacques Delille.

  4. The new Zune browser is surprisingly good, but not as good as the iPod’s. It works well, but isn’t as fast as Safari, and has a clunkier interface. If you occasionally plan on using the web browser that’s not an issue, but if you’re planning to browse the web alot from your PMP then the iPod’s larger screen and better browser may be important.

  5. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I will learn plenty of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  6. Losser dijo:

    Excellent blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Kudos!

    • silenechristen dijo:

      I advise to you to investigate the different platforms bloggers and see which offers more possibilities for the type of blog that you create. Within this, the type of theme for the appearance that choose is vital because then you can have problems in how information is presented or accessed. I have 3 wordpress blogs and I’m happier with some of the issues with others. I admit that I have not found the subject that he did not fail in the presentation of something, but I keep looking! I wish you luck and I really hope to hear from you. A greeting from Spain

  7. Je ne pouvais pas quitter votre site avant de de vous dire que j’ai vraiment apprécié l’information de qualité que vous offrez à vos visiteurs …

  8. peb dijo:

    Howdy! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  9. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to find anyone with some authentic thoughts on this subject. realy thanks for starting this up. this web site is something that is wanted on the net, someone with a little bit originality. useful job for bringing one thing new to the web!

  10. Hard MASS dijo:

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

  11. profi mass dijo:

    Wonderful blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Thanks!

Responder

